Tunderbridge Wells Water
Requests: If you need specific information on this remedy - e.g. a proving or a case info on toxicology or whatsoever, please post a message in the Request area www.homeovision.org/forum/ so that all users may contribute.
Back in 1606, the largest village close to the spring was the historic town of Tunbridge, so the area was named Tunbridge Wells. Over the years, the spelling of Tunbridge changed to Tonbridge. So now if you look at a map of Kent, you'll find Tonbridge right up the road from Tunbridge Wells. The similar spellings and pronunciations have been a source of confusion to travelers for centuries. The "Royal" prefix helps a bit. In 1909, King Edward VII bestowed the right to add "Royal" to the town's name in recognition of three centuries of visits by British royalty. Royal Tunbridge Wells is the name you find on maps; most locals call the town Tunbridge Wells or the Wells."
TUNBRIDGE WELLS Water
Minerals; Inorganic; More Inorganic Compounds
a meditative proving made by the Guild of Homoeopaths on 15th March 1997. The 6th potency was taken.(Prometheus provings)
Description of the substance
In the Heart of Kent, Royal Tunbridge Wells has been a fashionable Spa town since the 17th century when it became popular among royalty and the aristocracy. From its humble beginnings with the discovery of a mineral spring around 1606, Royal Tunbridge Wells developed into a fashionable Spa resort, famous for its charming colonnaded walks known as the Pantiles.
This cheerful former spar town grew up amid the Wealden forests after Lord North discovered it's chalybeate spring in 1606.Building began in 1638 when a grassy promenade, called the Walk, was laid out beside the spring and visitor 'took the waters' in the morning and socialised afterwards. Later, the Walk was paved with square earthenware tiles, giving rise to it's present name, The Pantiles.Tunbridge Wells grew haphazardly and informally, and is a very attractive town, it's charm arising from the 18th and 19th century elegance including Decimus Burton's Calverley Park and Calverley Park Terrace, and the buildings on Mount Sion and Mount Ephrahim. The common is a superb open space, while the most famous area, The Pantiles, is in effect an 18th century shopping precinct: a raised paved walkway shaded by lime trees, and fronted by shops behind a colonnade, which gives uniformity to otherwise varied architecture.The Chalybeate SpringTucked inside the entrance of the Pantiles, the famous colonnaded shopping area in Royal Tunbridge Wells, is the mineral spring to which the town owes its very existence - the Chalybeate Spring.The spring was discovered in the early 17th century by a lifelong hypochondriac, Dudley Lord North. He had the water analysed and then claimed it had miraculously cured him from a 'lingering consumptive disorder'.Test its purported medicinal qualities by taking the water from a traditional dipper. Open from Good Friday 29 March - Sunday 29th September 2002 10.00am to 5.00pm every day.Once you have taken the waters and feel invigorated, why not explore the rest of historic Royal Tunbridge Wells or set out into the beautiful High Weald countryside and visit one of the many gardens, castles, and stately homes in the surrounding area?With a variety of places to stay from luxurious town hotels to cosy B&B's in stunning countryside settings Royal Tunbridge Wells makes an ideal place for a short break.
The first recorded royal visitor to 'take to the waters' was Queen Henrietta Maria in 1629. Charles II and Queen Catherine visited on a number of occasions in the 1660s and the future James II visited in 1670.
Between 1826 and 1835 Princess Victoria and her mother the Duchess of Kent spent several holidays on the Calverley Estate. To celebrate the Princess's several visits, the townsfolk planted a grove on the Common, still to be seen today.
There was great excitement in 1845 when the first railway train steamed into Tunbridge Wells, carrying civic dignitaries and a brass band. The town became Royal Tunbridge Wells in 1909. Edward VII granted the title in recognition of the town's long association with royalty.
Royal Tunbridge Wells today is a town that has successfully blended old and new. Present day visitors can still drink the water from the Chalybeate Spring, enjoy a days shopping at the Royal Victoria Place shopping centre and experience an architectural heritage that illustrates every period of the town's colourful history.
There are two with Large basons of stone fixt in ye Earth with severall holes in the bottom by wch the springs bubble up and fill it so as it alwayes runns over, notwithstanding the quantety dipp'd up in a morning which is the usual tyme the Company Comes, and the nearer they drink it the spring ye better, it being a spiriteous water that is ready to Evaporate if Carry'd any way, as has been try'd by weighing the water by the well and Carrying them but to ye middle of the walks, it has Lost of ye weight, and much more the End of the whole walke: notwithstanding many has it brought to their Lodgings a mile or two off and drink them in their beds, nay, some have them brought to London wch is near 40 miles. They have the bottles filled and corked in the well under the Water and so seale down the Corks wch they say preserves it. They have made the wells very Comodious by the many good buildings all about it and 2 or 3 mile round which are Lodgings for the Company that drinke ye waters, and they have Encreased their buildings so much that makes them very Cheape. All people buy their own provision at ye market wch is just by ye wells and furnish'd wth great plenty of all sorts.